Thursday, October 16, 2014
THE MATCHUP: Où est l'Playoffs?
Monday, August 4, 2014
THE STARTING 11: TFC-related roadside attractions on Highway 401
The "401 Derby" between TFC and Montreal Impact is not only one of MLS' most fierce rivalries but also one with a heavy flow of supporter traffic between the two cities. Connecting Toronto and Montreal is of course the mighty Highway 401 (and then something called an Autoroute 20 in Quebec). Along the rather mundane journey are a few spots of interest: "The Big Apple" near Colborne, a short detour to Jungle Cat World in Orono; and, that mystery smell near Cornwall. However, if the keen TFC supporter keeps an eye out, they will find a few spots with great relevance to their beloved club...
11. "The Issey Nakajima-Farran Inhumanity Memorial"
10. A 40-foot tall Greg Sutton goalkeeper's glove
9. The spot just outside of Bowmanville where the TFC bus pulled over to let Danleigh Borman pee in the woods only to drive off without him on purpose
8. The rural barn which Chad Barrett could infamously not hit the side of
7. The massive pothole in the express lane where Maxim Usanov punched the Highway 401
6. The curb where Mikael Yourassowsky
5. "The Maurice Johnston On-Ramp to Nowhere"
4. Every bridge that crosses to the USA where Jacob Peterson used to try and escape the team bus and run across to freedom
3. The Thousand Islands / The place where Collin Samuel drank a bottle of Thousand Islands salad dressing
2. Prescott, Ontario's infamous nightspot "Club Prescobar"
1. The Official Town of MLSE: Port Hope
Thursday, July 31, 2014
THE MATCHUP: Feeling Blue
MONTREAL VS. TORONTO
STADE SAPUTO - SATURDAY 5PM ET
TV: TSN
MANUFACTURED DERBY NAME:
"The 401 Derby"
FACTS* AND STATS**
MONTREAL IMPACT
- Nick De Santis has become the first Italian name to ever leave Montreal Impact involuntarily.
- 7.5: Gallons of leftover cheese brine used to irrigate the Stade Saputo pitch. Fermental!
- A "Dilly Duka" has become the hottest gherkin-based side dish to a Montreal Smoked Meat sandwich.
- 3: Puppets used on the Quebecois kids' show "Jacques, Macques & L'Ernie"
- There is a 50% chance that the Impact's 2014 season is just a very elaborate Just For Laughs Gag.
- 14: Weeks before Frank Klopas must clean out his office.
- Futty Danso is only 17% as fun as he sounds.
TORONTO FC
- Reds' newcomer Warren Creavalle will be pressed into action by Ryan Nelsen because "his last name sounds a bit Frenchy and stuff".
- The club is keeping the existence of infamous Montreal nightspot "Club Super Sexe" a secret from Jermain Defoe until after the match.
- 3: Number of TFC fans who still consider Issey Nakajima-Farran's trade as #inhumane
- Dominic Oduro has publically expressed his relief that he wasn't dealt to Montreal as shaving a provolone ball into his hair would have been "too weird".
- Before settling on Bitchy the Hawk, TFC considered an expensive transfer that would have brought the St-Hubert Chicken to Toronto to defend BMO Field from seagulls. Saucy!
- 18: Other MLS clubs who would chew off their arm to have Michael Bradley in their line-up so stop being crazy when he has an off-night.
- Gilberto has been frustrated in both of Canada's official languages.
*Maybe
**Possibly
Friday, October 25, 2013
THE MATCHUP: Le spoil
TV: TSN
Schadenfruede. No, not the last name of Montreal's manager but the pleasure derived from the misfortune of others. It is a delicious prospect for Toronto FC supporters, so bereft of anything to cheer for with our own club, that perhaps The Reds may instill some last minute damage upon our rivals and in turn we feel slightly better about our own lot in life. With a victory on Saturday (and some other MLS chips falling on Sunday) TFC could effectively dash Montreal's hopes for a post-season appearance. Tres jolie!
"The 401 Derby"
TORONTO: Joe Bendik, Bright Dike, Alvaro Rey
MONTREAL: Davy Arnaud, Marco Di Vaio, Alessandro Nesta
- TFC fans leaving with a sense of optimism: 500-1
- TFC fans leaving with a sense of resignation: 50-1
- TFC fans leaving with a sense of deja vu: EVENS
POST-MATCH HEADLINE: "C'EST LA VIE"
Wednesday, July 3, 2013
THE SOUTH STAND REPORT - Toronto FC vs Montreal... or who doesn't like memes?
Toronto is coming off of a positive-but-utimately-disappointing performance against RSL, and RSL ain't anything special. They're no Montreal. First place Montreal. Year TWO Montreal.
Sometimes, just sometimes, I wish we were owned by a cheese magnate... *sigh*
1' - GOAL - Romero gets sent in catching a sleepy O'Dea, Bendik comes out to thwart the attempt, but doesn't get enough on the shot as the rebound ends back at Romero's feet and he puts it in a near-vacant net.
ROBINS 0, FROMAGE 1
6' - GOAL - Brockie gets loose, wide left side of the box and launched a bullet high right.
ROBINS 1, FROMAGE 1
20' - GOAL - OK, what? Caldwell gets his newly signed skull onto a cross and buries it.
ROBINS 2, FROMAGE 1
24' - GOAL - What. The. Hell. Is. Going. On. Here. Silva lays it off to O'Dea, takes three big steps into the box and hammers it low and into the corner. Amends made. This is happening!
ROBINS 3, FROMAGE 1
37' - YELLOW - Russell for a rough tackle. Sure, why not.
44' - YELLOW - Convey for, um, something.
Half-Time Mood : Damn.
46' - YELLOW - Agbossoumonde for, what can only be described as, accumulated bullshit.
49' - Blown call? Blown call. Sometimes it's so obvious...
55' - At this point we realize that someone is terribly gun-shy...
67' - Brockie gets set up with a ball 12 yards out by Lambe, but Chad Barrett's it way over the bar.
Quote of the Match :
to poach bad defender passing
69' - GOAL - Kamara turns and fires from nearly the penalty spot.
ROBINS 3, FROMAGE 2
70 - GOAL - Ugh. Di Vaio. I predicted it, to be fair...
ROBINS 3, FROMAGE 3
74' - SUB - Braun comes on for Silva.
77' - SUB - Hall comes on for Russel, which is well received from our stoop.
84' - SUB - Lambe makes way for Koevermans, a.k.a. Dutchsh Jeshush
89' - Brockie nearly becomes a legend with a shot just side of the right post. So damn close.
FULL TIME : TORONTO 3, MONTREAL 3
Man of the Match : We're gonna go with Brockie though there was some serious love for Laba and O'Dea could've had the nod if he hadn't fell asleep in the first 39 seconds of the game.
Goat of the Game : Agbossoumonde if only for the fear that he was one more tackle away from pulling a Henry. He wasn't bad, but he was getting chippy.
Ref Rating : 2 out of 5. Giving Toledo a 1 is too easy. There were a few times he let play go when it could've been stopped for a foul but didn't. But he blows so many simple calls. We did joke that it would be a challenge for him to screw over both Canadian sides tonight and if there was a way that neither team would earn points, he'd find a way.
I Am Not The Gaffer But... : While I appreciate going for the win in the last few minutes, I should be forgiven for wondering why the hell Koevermans came on when a fresh defender could've appeased uneasy regular patrons. Also, I know this may not be a gaffer problem, but there wasn't a single defender that could be dressed as there were really none (naturally, anyways) on the bench?
Kit Spotting : We saw an AEK kit, which was different. We almost gave the nod to the guy with the TFC kit with our very own Haitian sensation Fellinga on the back until we spotted a Sydney FC home on the way out of the ground. Winner.
When you have to explain to people why they announce a sell-out when clearly one in every five seats are unoccupied, you aren't impressing anyone... seriously Silva, SHOOT THE DAMN BALL... To be fair, I predicted 4-1 Montreal. If you don't think I have faith, then I don't think you ever watch the matches... Speaking of predictions, we believe Brockie is going to play out much like Plata : heralded loan a success, back to parent club, returns next season from a full transfer, bust, picked up by L.A. and bags a brace in his first full appearance... man, who doesn't love the 30 minute GO Trains, amirite?... Toronto truly deserved the 3 points tonight. They played cohesive, creative, agressive football for about 65 minutes, which is about equal to the amount of football of the same description that they've played in TOTAL all season before tonight. Struggled to regain composure after the quick two Montreal goals, but it wasn't all panic in the last ten minutes... I still wish Di Vaio played for Toronto, even though I really wanted to see Bendik pummel after end-of-half whining.
I was fortunate enough to travel to Germany for the 2006 World Cup and while in Munich, I stopped at the club shop of the greatest club in all of the nation, TSV 1860 Munich! While there, I asked the attendant how easy or difficult was it to obtain kits from other clubs, specifically Hannover 96. He told me that with the exception of the big clubs, like Bayern, Dortmund, Hamburg and maybe Schalke 04, you'll have to go to that particular town to find it. Every city and town has a club and they are referred to as a "grey mouse" (translated from German), which is, common and unremarkable.
For me to hate/dislike Montreal is irrational because neither club has done anything significant to the other in their quest(s) for glory. "Big" clubs to me are the glamour teams or historically successful ones, like DC United, L.A. Galaxy and Harrison Extreme Beverage. I have a stronger distaste for Dallas and Kansas City than I do Montreal or Vancouver because nothing has happened with the northern clubs. For now, Montreal is a grey mouse. One day that may change.
Player Ratings : Bendik 7, O'Dea 6.5, Agbossoumonde 6, Caldwell 7, Richter 6, Convey 6, Russell 6 [Hall N/A], Laba 6.5, Lambe 6.5 [Koevermans N/A], Silva 6 [Braun N/A], Brockie 7
@ignirtoq feels that he's already got value for the money from the generator. With a little bit of luck/laziness, this won't be the last time he uses it. We assure you, he will not be able to expense this app.
Wednesday, May 1, 2013
AFTER 90: Cup runneth ugly
MONTREAL VS. TORONTO
Really? Jonathan Osorio. Why not?
Saturday, March 16, 2013
AFTER 90: Not so gouda
Hogan Ephraim
Thursday, March 14, 2013
THE MATCHUP: Les Reds marchons dans
OLYMPIC STADIUM - SATURDAY 4PM ET
TV: TSN
THE KICKABOUT:
Like it or lump it MLS, "The 401 Derby" is unchallenged amongst the league's derby days. When you throw in all the other muck that makes Montreal v Toronto a powder keg in any sporting, political, cultural or Mitsou-based clash, it can't be beat for heat. Just to be dicks about the whole thing, TFC supporters are invading en masse dans le Big O and are set to break (our own) MLS away day travel record. Throw in the bonus that Montreal is looking like a good squad and TFC are seemingly in ascendance and merde just got real.
With approximately 5000 red clad Ontari-ari-ari-ans making a spectacle of ourselves in our own "Kop" in The Big O, we thought it only right to emulate some other famous Reds and sing a little tune to our provolone-money host. Learn the tune, learn the words (like so)... hold your scarf up high....
When you walk through the store
Hold your basket high
And don't be afraid of the rind
At the end, of the aisle
There's a golden wedge
And that sweet cheesy tang of Cheddar
Walk on, past the Swiss
Walk on, past Colby
Though your choice... is all your own
Walk on, walk on, with Saputo in your cart
And you'll never Prov-alone
You'll never Provalone
"The 401 Derby"
PLAYERS TO WATCH:
MONTREAL: Patrice Bernier, Marco Di Vaio, Alessandro Nesta
TORONTO: John Bostock, Robert Earnshaw, Darren O'Dea
THE ODDS:
- Darren O'Dea not doing well with either official language: 10-1
- "Club Super Sexe" not accepting TFC Discount Cards: 2-1
- Someone commenting that it's "provolone" not "provalone": EVENS
WHO ARE YA?
Nowhere in Canada was yesterday's Papal announcement more closely followed than in Catholic-heavy Quebec. Not ones to miss a promotional opportunity, Toronto FC quickly put a new third goalkeeper kit into production for their own Vatican-esque property. "The Swiss Guard" Stefan Frei kit should be available soon through your local parish.
" (SOMETHING ANGRY IN FRENCH) !!!"
And… no matter what happens on Saturday Reds’ supporters… you get to leave The Big O come back to this…
Monday, November 28, 2011
THE STARTING 11: Gameday differences between Toronto FC and Montreal Impact
11. Impact supporters sections outnumbered by smoking sections
10. Early-season frostbite in both official languages
9. One section of stadium constantly threatening to separate and start their own club
8. Tons of inflammatory chanting proclaiming St. Hubert's superiority over Swiss Chalet
7. Instead of Bitchy the Hawk, a dude named Claude sits on Stade Saputo's roof and reads angst-filed poetry at pigeons
6. 40% higher reports of baguette-related assaults
5. $10 glass of red wine
4. Referees often replaced by wacky cast of "Just For Laughs Gags"
3. After scoring the first goal, fans plan on showering the pitch with empty Jos. Louis wrappers
2. Scotts' Turf Girls replaced by mime troupe pushing imaginary lawnmowers over pitch
1. Le Butty Poutine
Wednesday, May 12, 2010
TFC rule the road at "401 Derby"
Le party is over at Stade Saputo once again. The "Pink Provolones" aka L'Impact du Montreal have been L'eliminated from the 2010 NutCan by Toronto FC. On a chilly night at the "House That Le Cheese Built" (and of course massive provincial payouts) TFC managed to outwork the hometown Impact just enough to grab the win and three points which puts The Reds in a solid position in the tournament.
To use a Quebecois analogy, the first half of the match was like a cold plate of poutine washed down with a warm, flat Pepsi. In other words, stale and boring. In front of a half empty stadium (apparently Montreal has a fairly popular ice hockey team also playing tonight) the two teams did not play anything resembling quality football. Many errant passes and sloppy runs dotted the first 45 with The Reds midfield pairing of Gabe Gala and Martin Saric looking particularly uncomfortable while Nick Garcia continued his hobby of clearing balls to the opponent. Luckily for Toronto, Montreal was even worse but that didn't stop several roars emanating from the crowd unexpectedly. Initial reports that Joey Saputo was throwing salami into the crowd proved to be wrong and it was actually in regards to The Habs scoring goals hundreds of miles away.
The second half saw Preki sub in "The" Chad Barrett for Maksim "Slow-Viet" Usanov and Barrett immediately improved TFC's offensive structure. Toronto started to control the match going forward and the second substitution, which saw O'Brien White replaced by Nick LaBrocca, changed The Reds' gameplan completely. Dangerous shots, good passing and a series of close calls were only denied by some quality goalkeeping by Montreal's Matt Jordan. Impact continued it's sloppy play only to be greeted by a loud cheer - not a prosciutto-cannon, another Habs goal.
TFC finally broke the deadlock in the 73rd minute when a terrific run and cross by the confident Barrett was clattered into the net by a sliding Dwayne De Rosario. With TFC up 1-0 Montreal became more frantic on the ball as they tried to salvage a win in vain. Their poor offensive form was met with a raucous cheer from the few thousand in attendance - or the Habs won. Whatever. TFC held off a late Impact surge with some solid play from Sam Cronin who had a solid second half display at rightback and also some very commanding goalkeeping by Swiss Mister Stefan Frei. At the whistle it was TFC who took the 3 points and once again the dominant male role in the "401 Derby".
In a week where Montreal's football community celebrated its membership into Major League Soccer this will be a major let down. Oh well, 2012 isn't too far away... but maybe Mr. Garber best not schedule any matches when the Canadiens are playing. The random cheering from an empty stadium is just tres bizarre.
MONTREAL IMPACT 0 - TORONTO FC 1
Sunday, August 2, 2009
THE WORD: L'Impact du Montreal pour L'Expansion de la MLS avec FC Toronto ou est le Biblioteque?
Hope you like Joe Louis' cakes, St. Hubert Chicken, Pepsi and cigarettes because it looks like "The 401 Derby" is on the horizon! Speaking to financial media outlet Forbes, MLS supremo Don Garber said that Montreal should have the 19th spot in the league by the 2011 season.No matter what your feelings are about Montreal, Quebec, The Impact, Charles De Gaulle, mimes, body hair... this news is fantastic for Planet TFC and it's supporters. The excitement that is often palpable at BMO Field will be downright fiery when we have a true rival (no offence Columbus, you know you feel the same) playing in a true regional derby. The two cities are already the best of rivals in other sports, politics, language, culture, looks, smell, sausages etc. and football will be an amazing catalyst.
Hopefully this is more than a rumour and Joey Saputo won't put his foot in his mouth once again, pissing off MLS. Let's also hope that the Montreal club will see le light and ouvre le porte for a new name. Impact is a roller hockey name which unlike Whitecaps, Sounders and Timbers has no history or relevance. Bienvenue FC Olympique Montreal? Mais oui!
WORD FACTOR: 8 / 10 (and a side of poutine)

















