
I do not expect perfection. In fact, I expect a fleeting expectation of cohesion with the common sense of fielding the best XI every time regardless of how big
Preki's dog house is at the moment. I don't know about the ego problems. I don't know about contracts. I don't know if anyone will ever be honest with supporters (aside from the angry dissidents who get traded to wherever Cronin went). But the goal of a footie team is to win. To win is to field the best team. If you want to make a point with your behavioral challenged players by holding them back, become a school teacher, not a manager and not a coach.
After grossly suspect officiating and sportsmanship from anyone not representing
TFC in Panama, this can only be welcomed like a cold beer on a hot day. Like today.
Starting XI
Frei
Usanov - Cann - Harden - Garcia
Labrocca - deGoo - Saric - Gargan
DeRo - Mista
Predictions:-
Mista unnecessarily subbed by half
- sounds of chaos behind us as an accident takes place on the midway
-
Doneil Henry comes on for a run out
-
TFC win 2-1
2 -
DeRo handled in the 6 yd box and... You know what? It was exciting and chaotic, whatever it was. Stuff happened, that's all you need to know.
11 -
Mista fires a ball at
Olave's giant shoulders and the faithful appeal for a penalty.
Labrocca chases the veered shot and issues a subpoena to the defender. Solid hustle, efficient legal work.
13 - with no winger option (hint hint
Preki),
Gargan fires a bullet 15
yds out with a little curl, but safely stopped by
Rimando.
17 - we believe
Usanov may have punched an attacker while fighting for the ball deep in the Toronto third.
He may have broken him.
18 - a very suspect defensive effort from the reds but it turns out Salt Lake are even more anemic. In the ensuing melee,
Frei gets the ball but
Olave shrugs from far away (
cuz he's massive, like
Les Ferdinand massive) and gets booked for knocking
Frei over.
Quote of the match"This is a family event!"
"There are no god damned families here. This is the Ex. Its practically 1/3 of a porno!"
- Julie and I have a philosophical discussion
(Get it, the "X"? 1/3 of a porno? XXX? Nevermind...)
24 - Not to be outdone, it appears as
DeRo is getting double teamed. Queasy.
29 -
Wingert has a go from a Tiny-Tom's-line-up distance away to test
Frei.
Frei passes with a leaping save.
43 -
Gargan lets a shot go from 18
yds out. This whole half has been very entertaining and creative.
I'd like to give a shout out to the poseur d-bag in front of me making out with his girlfriend on the GO Train. Thanks.
43 - Victoria says she loves me but is unable to show me. I bet she doesn't even read this...
1 min of extra time
Half-time mood : excited. I could dial a rotary phone with my nipples!
SUB -
Usanov out,
OBW in. The shift puts
DeRo at mid,
Gargan at left back
50 - Another screwed up scramble.
Saric should've b-boy'd that loose ball in.
60 - Brilliant attempt by Salt Lake.
Espindola chases a deep ball into the corner, crosses to
Morales, who lasers a header for the low right corner but
Frei saves again. Outstanding stuff.
63 - Garcia fires a 25 yd rocket of his own, forcing a big stop from the Salt Lake keeper.
69 -
SUB -
Saric out. Vanilla in. Whiskey tango foxtrot.
76 -
deGoo loops a ball from just over half and almost gets to the foot of
Mista. Pretty stuff.
78 -
Labrocca serving summons and serving cute passes into the box but
Mista's touch goes wide.
82 -
Wingert turns
Gargan inside out to get a shot that rifled off the bar.
88 - "
WTF" Peterson has 2 forward chances in succession. One goes off his marking defender and the second, his own rebound, goes nowhere near the net. Ugh.
89 - Johnson has a go and beats
Frei, but stopped by the woodwork again...
3 mins of extra time
90+1 -
Gargan is a better defender than
Usanov? Second time he got turned inside out by a winger. Rough.
FULL-TIME : Toronto 0, Real Salt Lake 0
Man of the Match : since I can't give it to the right post of the south goal due to it not being a man (damn technicalities), I'm giving it to
Saric. He's going to draw blood on someone
accidentally and I like it. He's mercurial and will sacrifice for a goal. I was liking
Gargan at right mid until the sub put him back too.
Goat of the Game : "
WTF" Peterson. Seriously. Its what I yell when he starts, he gets subbed in, touches the ball and fires wide.
Ref Rating : 4 out of 5. Sure
DeRo was manhandled all match but he didn't call some of the suspect tackles that
TFC were dishing out too. I'll take no calls for both sides.
I swear I've watched a game much like this except this had
waaaay more shooting and crossing. Toronto was lobbing shots from everywhere that wasn't the 18 yd box. That being said, so was Salt Lake. Lots of shots, ambitious plays. It was fun to watch but goals are funner to watch (yeah, I said funner, grammar Nazi). And with all the crossing this was the game to put
OBW into the match. Problem is he has no finish or control to speak of.
I can't wait to see the protection list for the expansion draft and I think I'm going to be furious to see
WTF Peterson and
OBW protected and
Usanov or
Attakora not. I'll have a prediction list when it gets closer, as will everyone I am sure. I hope someone forces Mo and/or
Preki to explain themselves when that list goes public.